Retirement of key officials triggers another PNP revamp

MANILA – Philippine National Police (PNP) chief Gen. Debold Sinas on Sunday announced a major revamp triggered by the retirement of some senior officials of the police organization.

Sinas named Brig. Gen. Luisito Magnaye as new director of PNP Health Service, replacing Brig. Gen. Nolasco Bathan who retired on Sunday.

He also appointed Maj. Gen. Dennis P. Agustin to replace PNP Director for Intelligence Maj. Gen. Amado Clifton Empiso who will retire Feb. 6, and Brig. Gen. Albert Ignatius Ferror as acting Director of the Criminal Investigation and Detection Group (CIDG) replacing Maj. Gen. Joel Napoleon Coronel who is set to retire on Feb. 11.

“We are infusing new blood into the command structure to fill the void created by the retirement of some senior officials and ensure continuity of command,” Sinas said in a statement.

Meanwhile, Brig. Gen. Domingo Lucas was named as the new Director for Research and Development while Brig. Gen. Florencio Ortilla was designated as the new head of the Aviation Security Group.

Sinas named Brig. Gen. Jon Arnaldo as the executive officer of the Directorate for Intelligence while Col. Tellio C Ngis-O was appointed as acting Deputy Director of the Special Action Force.

Col. John Guygoyon is now the acting executive officer of the Directorate for Investigation and Detective Management while Col. Angeles Geñorga Jr. as acting Dean of Academics of the PNP Academy.

Brig. Gen. Ronaldo Llanera now heads the Explosive and Ordnance Division and Canine Group while Brig. Gen. Samuel Nacion in the new deputy director of the National Police Training Institute; Col. Victor Valencia is now the acting executive officer of the Directorate for Research and Development; and Col. Robert Gallardo as acting chief of the Legislative Affairs Center of the Directorate for Plans.

Brig. Gen. Eliseo Cruz was named as the new director of the Southern Police District (SPD) which covers the cities of Parañaque, Pasay, Makati, Taguig, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, and the municipality of Pateros.

On the other hand, Brig. Gen. Nelson Bondoc was appointed as the new district director of the Northern Police District which covers Caloocan, Malabon, Navotas, and Valenzuela.

Other senior officers assigned in Metro Manila are Brig. Gen. Antonio Yarra as deputy regional director for Administration of the National Capital Region Police Office; Brig. Gen. Benjamin Acorda as the deputy regional director for Operations of the National Capital Region Police Office.

Brig. Gen. Emannuel Peralta, formerly assigned to the SPD and was replaced by Cruz, is now the regional director of Police Regional Office in Ilocos Region (PRO-1).

Peralta replaced Brig. Gen. Rodolfo Azurin, whose appointment as the new head of the Directorate for Information and Communication Technology Management (DICTM) will make him earn promotion to two-star rank.

Brig. Gen. Celso Bael was named as the number two man of the Mimaropa (Mindoro Oriental and Occidental, Marinduque, Romblon and Palawan) regional police, while Col. Ronaldo Cabral also assumed the same position for PRO 10, or Northern Mindanao.

Brig. Gen. Walter Pornillos, was named as the deputy regional director for Administration in Bangsamoro Administration Region, the same position given to Col. Victor Wanchakan for the PRO 9 or Zamboanga Peninsula.

Others affected in the reshuffle are as follows:

Brig. Gen. Walfredo Gimpaya Pornillos from Directorate for Plans (DPL) to PRO Bangsamoro Autonomous Region (BAR); Brig. Gen. Jonathan Mendoza Ureta from PNP-Explosive and Ordinance Division/K9 to Personnel Holding and Accounting Unit of the Directorate for Personnel and Records Management (PHAU-DPRM); Brig. Gen. Benjamin Capati Villasis Jr. from Directorate for Investigation and Detection Management (DIDM) to PHAU-DPRM; and Col. Tellio Colte Ngis from PRO BAR to Special Action Force. Sinas said reshuffle is effective on Feb. 1. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *